Autonomous Province of Vojvodina

Autonomous Province of Vojvodina

-A A +A

Autonomous Province of Vojvodina.

Vojvodina is an autonomous province of all the citizens living in its territory, as part of the Republic of Serbia.

It is mostly a plain landscape intersected by three navigable rivers - the Danube, Tisa and Sava, as well as by a network of canals, roads and railways, connecting the Central and Western Europe with the Balkans and Middle East. The major links include the Corridor X - for road transport and the Danube river, the Pan-European Transport Corridor VII, for river transport.

Vojvodina is also home to the oldest national park called the Fruška Gora, situated on the slopes of the hills bearing the same name. Seventeen monasteries have been built throughout the centuries, across the Fruška Gora.

Vojvodina is famous for the abundance of high-quality arable land, overall economic and cultural development, high population density and demographic diversity. Vojvodina is a region which has traditionally fostered multilingualism, multiculturalism and multiconfessionalism.

In the territory of AP Vojvodina, there are 45 municipalities and cities, as units of local self-government, arranged in seven counties, with administrative centres in: Subotica, Zrenjanin, Kikinda, Pančevo, Sombor, Novi Sad and Sremska Mitrovica.

The University of Novi Sad is the second biggest university centre in Serbia, with 14 faculties, three institutes, 50,000 students and 5,000 employees.

Major industries in Vojvodina include: agriculture and agribusiness, accompanying automotive industry, IT sector, metal industry, business services, tourism.

Vojvodina Basic Facts

Total area: 21.506 sq km

Population: 1.931.809 милиона; 26,87% становника у Србији

Ethnic groups: Serbs, Hungarians, Romanians, Slovaks, Croats, Ruthenians, Muslims and others (26 different ethnicities)

Languages: Serbian, Hungarian, Romanian, Slovak, Ruthenian, Croatian (all official languages of Vojvodina)

You are here


  • Mihajla Pupina boulevard, 16
    21000 Novi Sad
  • Autonomous Province of Vojvodina
    Republic of Serbia
  • Phone: 021/487-40-00